Council Members and Portfolios

 

SSAG Council members July 2019

NAME AFFILIATION ADDRESS CONTACT PORTFOLIO
Prof Tracey  McKay

UNISA

Florida campus, Department of Environmental Sciences

 

P/Bag X6, Florida, 1710 011-6709461

mckaytjm@unisa.ac.za

President
Education
Prof Luke Sandham

North West University Potchefstroom Campus

School of Geo and Spatial Sciences
Private Bag X6001
Potchefstroom

2531

Tel: 018-2991585

Fax: 0866220152

luke.sandham@nwu.ac.za

Past President
Constitutional Matters
Dr Richard Ballard

Gauteng City Region Observatory 4th Floor University Corner
11 Jorissen St
Braamfontein, Johannesburg
Tel: 011-7177280

Fax: 011-7177197

richard.ballard@gcro.ac.za

 

President Elect
Prof Brij Maharaj

School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Science, College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science, UKZN

 

3rd Floor MTB
Howard College Campus
Tel: 031-2601027

Fax: 031-2601391

maharajB@ukzn.ac.za

 

 

 

ex-officio member of the SANC-IGU committee
International Contacts/IGU
Co-editor Journal
Ex-officio
Prof Trevor Hill

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN

 

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN, Private Bag X01, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3209 Tel: 033-2605235

Fax: 033-2605344

hillt@ukzn.ac.za

Co-editor Journal
(General Editor of the journal)
Ex-officio
Prof Babatunde Abiodun

University of Cape Town, Dept of  Environmental and Geographical Science ENGEO DEPT, Private bag, Rondebosch, 7701 Tel: 021-6502874

Fax: 021-6503791

babatunde.abiodun@uct.ac.za

Writing Workshop
SACNASP
Prof Onisimo Mutanga

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN

 

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN, Private Bag X01, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3209 Tel: 033-2605779

Fax: 033-2605344

MutangaO@ukzn.ac.za

 Conference
proceedings
Dr Innocent Sinthumule

University of Johannesburg, Department of Geography, Environmental Management and Energy Studies Auckland Park Campus, PO Box 524, Auckland Park, 2006, Johannesburg 011-5593810

isinthumule@uj.ac.za

z

Hon. Secretary
Newsletter
Dr Gina Weir-Smith

HSRC Postnet Suite 274
P/Bag X06
Waterkloof
0145
Tel: 012-3022529

Fax: 0866105804

gweir-smith@hsrc.ac.za

Electoral Officer
Mr Adriaan van der Walt

University of the Free State, Dept of Geography PO Box 339, Bloemfontein, 9300 051-4019653

VanDerWaltA@ufs.ac.za

 Treasurer
SACNASP
Dr Dirk Cilliers

North-West University Potchefstroom Campus

School of Geo and Spatial Sciences

Private Bag X6001

Potchefstroom

2531

018 299 1589

Dirk.cilliers@nwu.ac.za

Proceedings and
Social Media (Website)
Dr Jennifer Fitchett

University of the Witwatersrand School of Geography, Archaeology and Environmental Studies 011-717-6514

Jennifer.Fitchett@wits.ac.za

Conferences (face of council)
Social Media (Facebook)
Dr Manfred Spocter

 

Stellenbosch University Department of Geography and Environmental Studies

Stellenbosch University

P/Bag X1
Matieland

7602

021-808-3095

mspocter@sun.ac.za

Awards (Society)
Awards (students)
Centenary Award
Prof Cecil Seethal

Retired: Fort Hare and Unisa 21 Belmont Crescent
Newholmes
Pietermaritzburg
3201
0822004701

cecil.seethal@gmail.com 

Ombudsman
 Ms Philippa Irvine

Rhodes University Department of Geography
Lucas Avenue
Rhodes University
Makhanda (Grahamstown)
6139
Tel: 046-6038053

p.irvine@ru.ac.za

 

Representative
Host Conference
Rhodes 2020
 Ms S Brits

University of the Free State, Dept of Geography PO Box 339, Bloemfontein, 9300 Tel: 051-4012184

Fax: 051-4013816

britss@ufs.ac.za

 

Administrative
Officer