Council Members and Portfolios

 

SSAG Council members June 2017

 

NAME AFFILIATION ADDRESS CONTACT PORTFOLIO
Prof Luke Sandham

(President)

North West University Potchefstroom Campus

School of Geo and Spatial Sciences
Private Bag X6001
Potchefstroom

2531

Tel: 018-2991585

Fax: 0866220152

luke.sandham@nwu.ac.za

President

 

Prof Kevin  Mearns

(Past President)

UNISA

Department of Environmental Sciences

 

PO Box 131308, Northmead, 1511 Tel: 011-4712973

Fax: 011-4712866

mearnkf@unisa.ac.za

Past President
Constitutional Matters
SACNASP
Dr Tracey  McKay

(President Elect)

UNISA

Florida campus, Department of Environmental Sciences

 

P/Bag X6, Florida, 1710 011-6709461

mckaytjm@unisa.ac.za

President Elect

Education

Prof Brij Maharaj

School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Science, College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science, UKZN

 

3rd Floor MTB
Howard College Campus
Tel: 031-2601027

Fax: 031-2601391

maharajB@ukzn.ac.za

 

 

 

ex-officio member of the SANC-IGU committee

International Contacts/IGU

Co-editor Journal

Ex-officio

Prof Trevor Hill

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN

 

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN, Private Bag X01, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3209 Tel: 033-2605235

Fax: 033-2605344

hillt@ukzn.ac.za

Co-editor Journal

(General Editor of the journal)

Ex-officio

Dr Babatunde Abiodun

University of Cape Town, Dept of  Environmental and Geographical Science ENGEO DEPT, Private bag, Rondebosch, 7701 Tel: 021-6502874

Fax: 021-6503791

babatunde.abiodun@uct.ac.za

 Co-deputy – Conference proceedings
Mrs Bongi Ndimande

University of Zululand Department of Geography and Environmental Studies, BLOCK C, Private Bag X1001

Kwadlangezwa
3886

Tel: 035-9026318

Fax: 035-9026647

NdimandeN@unizulu.ac.za

Newsletter
Dr Richard Ballard

Gauteng City Region Observatory 4th Floor University Corner
11 Jorissen St
Braamfontein, Johannesburg
Tel: 011-7177280

Fax: 011-7177197

richard.ballard@wits.ac.za

richballard@gmail.com

 

Awards (Society)
Writing Workshop
Prof Nico Kotze

University of Johannesburg Dept of Geography, Environmental Management and Energy Studies
Auckland Park Campus
P O Box 524
Auckland Park
2006
Tel: 011-559 3810

Fax: 011-559 2430

nicok@uj.ac.za

 

 

Conference
proceedings
Prof Ashley Gunter

UNISA

Florida campus, Department of Geography, College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences

P/Bag X6, Florida, 1710 011-4713390

gunteaw@unisa.ac.za

Awards (Students)
Prof Onisimo Mutanga

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN

 

School of  Agricultural, Earth &Environmental Sciences, UKZN, Private Bag X01, Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3209 Tel: 033-2605779

Fax: 033-2605344

MutangaO@ukzn.ac.za

 Co-deputy – Conference proceedings
Dr Alex Wafer

Wits P.O. Box 155
Wits
2050
011-7176517

Alex.Wafer@wits.ac.za

 Hon. Secretary
Assist with Newsletter
Dr Gina Weir-Smith

HSRC Postnet Suite 274
P/Bag X06
Waterkloof
0145
Tel: 012-3022529

Fax: 0866105804

gweir-smith@hsrc.ac.za

Electoral Officer
Dr Clinton van der Merwe

 

Wits Wits School of Education
Office 210 Campus Centre 27
St Andrews Road
Parktown, Johannesburg
Tel: 011-7173173

Fax: 0865296741

Clinton.vanderMerwe@wits.ac.za

SA Geography Olympiad and IGU Olympiad
(Co-opted for two years from Feb 2017)
Mr A van der Walt

University of the Free State, Dept of Geography PO Box 339, Bloemfontein, 9300 051-4019653

VanDerWaltA@ufs.ac.za

Prof  C Seethal

21 Belmont Crescent
Newholmes
Pietermaritzburg
3201
0822004701

cecil.seethal@gmail.com 

Ombudsman
 Ms S Brits

University of the Free State, Dept of Geography PO Box 339, Bloemfontein, 9300 Tel: 051-4012184

Fax: 051-4013816

britss@ufs.ac.za

 

Administrative

Officer